top of page

Maury Ely Award

Duane Laska receives the 2016 Maury Ely award plaque from ISA President Jason Tomkins

Few awards in the sign industry are held in higher esteem than the Maury Ely Award presented annually by the Illinois Sign Association to that individual who has distinguished him or herself for meaningful and meritorious contributions to both the association and the industry.

Maury Ely is almost singularly credited for developing various programs which propelled the National Electric Sign Association (NESA) to the federal legislative area, promoted a new and broader membership base and made NESA responsive to numerous member demands for greater education and information.

Upon his retirement for NESA, Maury accepted the less demanding but equally important role of furthering the development of the state sign association of Illinois, serving as its first professional Executive Director.  His success is evidenced today by the continuing growth and activism of ISA.

It is only fitting that Maury Ely’s legacy to the sign industry is one that encourages and then rewards foresightedness, determination and achievement.

Past Maury Ely Award Recipients

2021 Jason Thomkins

2016 Duane Laska

2014 Brian Swingle

2011 Jack Gesell

2010 Jim Brusek

2007 Mike Dunn

2006 Sam Van Bruggen

2005 Harry Niese

2003 John (Jack) Hallman

2002 Paul Tylman

2001 Cheryl Grate

2000 Joe Phillips (deceased)

1999 Jack Van Bruggen (deceased)

1998 Terry Hopkins

1997 Rick Turnroth

1996 Randy Niese (deceased)

1995 Larry Weitz

1994 Edward Hanna (deceased)

1993 Don Harkins

1992 Bob Lemaire

1991 Jim Dimpfl (deceased)

1990 Ralph Cilia

1989 George Blume (deceased)

1988 Sam Vecchio (deceased)

1987 Vic Laska

1986 Henry “Duke” Lambke

1985 John Mawhiney (deceased)

1984 Clarence Spanjer (deceased)

1983 Henry Spanjer (deceased)

1982 Jack Bercier (deceased)

1981 Sy Politinsky

1980 Eddie Larsen

1979 Paul Corrington

bottom of page